Western South Dakota Region

Western South Dakota has 12 counties that are known to have railroad bridges.
The region is a major tourist area, due to the Black Hills which rise to the west.
While highly rural, the western edge of the area does have many well known landmarks, including Mount Rushmore.
Of all the creeks and rivers, the Missouri River and Cheyenne River are significant waterways in the area.
A smaller river known as the Bad River transverses several counties in the area as well.
The region is extremely rural, with Rapid City being the largest city at 74,000 (2013).

Major cities include Deadwood, Hot Springs, Custer and Philip.


Butte County
Corson County
Custer County
Fall River County
Haakon County
Jackson County
Jones County
Lawrence County
Lyman County
Meade County
Pennington County
Stanley County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved