West Central Wisconsin Region

West Central Wisconsin contains a set of 10 counties located in the largely agricultural area of West Central Wisconsin.

WEst Central Wisconsin features a very hilly landscape, being part of the Driftless Area. Most of the topographical action occurs south of Interstate 94.
Near the Mississippi River, many large valleys, known as Coulees dominate the landscape.

Further east in the region, large hills led to the construction of frac sand mines. Eau Claire is the biggest city in the region at 66,000 (2015).

The Chippewa, St. Croix, Mississippi, Eau Claire and Red Cedar Rivers all run through the region.

The area has a very diverse history. Agraculture and industry are both very prevalent, and the western portion is considered part of the Twin Cities in current statistics.

Major cities include Eau Claire, Chippewa Falls, Ladysmith, Menomonie, River Falls and Cameron.


Barron County
Buffalo County
Chippewa County
Dunn County
Eau Claire County
Pepin County
Pierce County
Polk County
Rusk County
St. Croix County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved