South West Wisconsin Region

South West Wisconsin contains a set of 10 counties located in the largely agricultural area of Southwest Wisconsin.

South West Wisconsin features a very hilly landscape, being part of the Driftless Area. It is an extremely rural area.
Near the Mississippi River, many large valleys, known as Coulees dominate the landscape.

Further east in the region, large hills led to the construction of lead mines. La Crosse is the biggest city in the region at 51,000 (2015).

The La Crosse, Fever, Trempeleau, Wisconsin and Black Rivers all run through the region.

Major cities include La Crosse, Platteville, Prairie Du Chein, Sparta, Viroqua and Black River Falls.


Crawford County
Grant County
Iowa County
Jackson County
La Crosse County
Lafayette County
Monroe County
Richland County
Trempeleau County
Vernon County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved