South West Illinois Region

South West Illinois contains the 18 counties featured on the western half of Southern Illinois.

The northern majority of the area features flat farmland, along with some valleys for rivers.
The southern portion features much steeper hills and woodlands, along with significant rivers.

The largest city of this region is Belleville with a population of 42,900 (2013).
This region is considerably less densely populated than Central and Northern Illinois.

Other Major cities include Carbondale, Marion, Alton and Centralia.


Alexander County
Bond County
Clinton County
Fayette County
Franklin County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Johnson County
Madison County
Monroe County
Perry County
Pulaski County
Randolph County
St. Clair County
Union County
Washington County
Williamson County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved