South East Kansas Region

South East Kansas contains the 28 counties featured on the eastern half of southern Kansas.

The entire region features a terrain of rolling hills and small rivers. It features mostly small towns.

The region is in the heart of the Great Plains. Some large rivers run through the region, including the Neosho, the Marais des Cygnes and the Verdigris.
The largest city of this region is Wichita, at a population of approximately 390,000 (2016).

Other Major cities include Fort Scott, Pittsburgh and Independence.


Allen County
Anderson County
Bourbon County
Butler County
Chase County
Chautauqua County
Cherokee County
Coffey County
Cowley County
Crawford County
Elk County
Greenwood County
Harper County
Harvey County
Kingman County
Labette County
Linn County
Lyon County
Marion County
McPherson County
Montgomery County
Neosho County
Reno County
Rice County
Sedgwick County
Sumner County
Wilson County
Woodson County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved