Peoria County, Illinois

Peoria County is located in the central part of Illinois, southwest of Chicago. It is part of the Peoria Metro area.

It is named for the Peoria Tribe, which once inhabited the area. The seat and largest city are both Peoria (7th most populous in IL).

It borders Stark, Marshall, Woodford, Tazewell, Fulton and Knox Counties.

Main Highways include I-74, I-474, US-24, US-150, IL-6, IL-8, IL-9, IL-29 and IL-40.


© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved