Northern Illinois Region

Northern Illinois contains the Northwest and North Central sections of the state, with 15 Counties. Northeast Illinois is the Chicago Metropolitan Region.

Northwest Illinois features deep valleys and an extremely rugged terrain. This terrain ends at about the Rock River, which cuts through this region.

North Central Illinois features much flatter terrain, and larger cities. Rockford is the biggest at 150,000 (2013).

Further south in this region, the land flattens out, although the Illinois River leaves its mark in a deep cut.

Major cities include Rockford, Belvidere, Rock Island, Freeport, La Salle and Sterling.


Boone County
Bureau County
Carroll County
DeKalb County
Henry County
Jo Daviess County
LaSalle County
Lee County
Mercer County
Ogle County
Putnam County
Rock Island County
Stephenson County
Whiteside County
Winnebago County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved