North East Minnesota Region

Northeast Minnesota is the northeast corner of Minnesota. It contains 11 counties.

Northeast Minnesota contains really flat and forested land.

The area also has significant iron ore mining in the arrow head, comprised of the point of Minnesota.

Duluth, the largest city at 86,128 (2013) contains major bluffs and steep hills, as the land drops to the border of Lake Superior.

The area also contains several smaller rivers. The area is extremely rural, sometimes more than 30 miles between actual towns.

Major cities include Two Harbors, Duluth, Pine City, Little Falls, Virginia and Grand Rapids.


Aitkin County
Carlton County
Cook County
Crow Wing County
Itasca County
Kanabec County
Koochiching County
Lake County
Morrison County
Pine County
Saint Louis County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved