North East Kansas Region

North East Kansas contains the 28 counties featured on the eastern half of northern Kansas.

The entire region features a terrain of rolling hills and small rivers. It features most of the largest towns in Kansas.

The region is in the heart of the Great Plains. Some large rivers run through the region, including the Marais des Cygnes and the Kansas. The Flint Hills add texture to this area.
The largest city of this region is Overland Park, at approximately 189,000 people (2016).

Other Major cities include Kansas City, Kansas, Olathe, Topeka, Lawrence, Manhattan, Salina and Leavenworth.


Atchison County
Brown County
Clay County
Cloud County
Dickinson County
Doniphan County
Douglas County
Franklin County
Geary County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Jewell County
Johnson County
Leavenworth County
Marshall County
Miami County
Morris County
Nemaha County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pottawatomie County
Republic County
Riley County
Saline County
Shawnee County
Washington County
Wabaunsee County
Wyandotte County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved