Chicago Metropolitan Area

The Northeast Corner of the state is considered to be the Chicago Metropolitan Area, with a total of 8 Counties.

The area features rolling hills, skyscrapers, residential neighborhoods, industry and several small rivers.

The area contains 7 of Illinois 10 largest cities. Chicago is the biggest at 2,695,598 (2013), with Aurora the next largest at 197,899 (2013) as a suburb.

South of Chicago, major industry begins to pop up, and the Des Plaines and Kankakee Rivers meet near Joliet to form the Illinois River.

Major cities in this region include Chicago, Aurora, Joliet, Elgin and Waukegan.


Cook County
DuPage County
Grundy County
Kane County
Kendall County
Lake County
McHenry County
Will County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved