Southern Wisconsin Region

Southern Wisconsin contains a set of 10 counties located in the largely agricultural area of South Central Wisconsin.

Southern Wisconsin features a much more flat terrain from the western and southern counties. However; Sauk, Columbia, Dane and Green Counties all feature some of the largest hills in Wisconsin.
The Baraboo Range, and beautiful Devils Lake in Sauk County is the best example of this.

Further east in the region, some rolling hills are good for farming. Madison is the biggest city in the region at 249,000 (2015).

The Baraboo, Rock, Pecatonica, Wisconsin and Sugar Rivers all run through the region.

Major cities include Madison, Janesville, Beloit, Watertown, Waukesha and Wisconsin Dells.


Columbia County
Dane County
Dodge County
Green County
Jefferson County
Rock County
Sauk County
Walworth County
Washington County
Waukesha County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved