Northern Wisconsin Region

Northern Wisconsin contains a set of 10 counties located in the densely forested area of Northern Wisconsin.

Northern Wisconsin features a much more flat terrain from the western and southern counties. However, a large plateau extends across portions of Ashland, Iron, Price and Oneida Counties.

Further west in the region, rivers grace the landscape heading towards Lake Superior. The area is one of the most rural, yet also one of the most scenic in Wisconsin. Superior is the biggest city in the region at 27,000 (2015).

The area also features a rich background in the timber industry.

The Nemadji, Namekagon, Chippewa, Bad and Amnicon Rivers all run through the region.

Major cities include Superior, Hayward, Ashland, Hurley, Bayfield and Spooner.


Ashland County
Bayfield County
Burnett County
Douglas County
Iron County
Oneida County
Price County
Sawyer County
Vilas County
Washburn County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved