North East Iowa Region

North East Iowa contains 11 Counties.

The region is likely the most exciting part of Iowa, featuring numerous bluffs and deep valleys for its entirety.

There are many creeks and rivers which flow towards the Mississippi River. Major rivers include the Upper Iowa, Cedar and Wapsipinicon.

The region is rather rural, with Waterloo being the largest city at 68,000 (2013).

Major cities include Waterloo, Independance, Dubuque, and Decorah.


Allamakee County
Black Hawk County
Bremer County
Buchanan County
Chickasaw County
Clayton County
Deleware County
Dubuque County
Fayette County
Howard County
Winneshiek County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved