North Central Iowa Region

Central Iowa contains 11 Counties.

The region contains small rivers, and a rather flat landscape, mostly used for farming. It is often times considered the "most boring" part of Iowa. The bridges tell otherwise.

The region has several smaller rivers. The Cedar and Wapsipinicon begin in the region, but the Shell Rock, Winnebago and Des Moines flow in the region.

The region is rather rural, with Mason City being the largest city at 28,000 (2013).

Major cities include Mason City, Charles City, Algona and Humboldt.


Butler County
Cerro Gordo County
Floyd County
Franklin County
Hancock County
Humboldt County
Kossuth County
Mitchell County
Winnebago County
Worth County
Wright County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved