Eastern South Dakota Region

Eastern South Dakota has 34 counties that are known to have railroad bridges.
The region is a highly rural, consisting mainly of flat farmland.
Of all the creeks and rivers, the Missouri River, the James River and the Big Sioux River are the most significant in the area.
The region is rather rural, although Sioux Falls is the largest city at about 174,000 (2016)

Major cities include Mitchell, Vermillion, Yankton, Huron and Brookings.


Beadle County
Bon Homme County
Brookings County
Brown County
Brule County
Campbell County
Charles Mix County
Clay County
Codington County
Davison County
Day County
Douglas County
Duell County
Edmunds County
Grant County
Hamlin County
Hand County
Hughes County
Hutchinson County
Hyde County
Kingsbury County
Lake County
Lincoln County
Marshall County
Miner County
Minnehaha County
Moody County
Roberts County
Sanborn County
Spink County
Turner County
Union County
Walworth County
Yankton County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved